Ohio State LSAMP program receives diversity award

Ohio State LSAMP program receives diversity award

The Office of Diversity and Inclusion's Ohio State Louis Stokes Alliances for Minority Participation (LSAMP) Program received the 2018 Inspiring Programs in STEM Award from INSIGHT Into Diversity magazine, the largest and oldest diversity and inclusion publication in higher education. The Inspiring Programs in STEM Award honors colleges and universities that encourage and assist students from underrepresented groups to enter the fields of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM). The Ohio State LSAMP will be featured, along with 77 other recipients, in the September 2018 issue of INSIGHT Into Diversity magazine.

Inspiring Programs in STEM Award winners were selected by INSIGHT Into Diversity based on efforts to inspire and encourage a new generation of young people to consider careers in STEM through mentoring, teaching, research, and successful programs and initiatives.

“The LSAMP STEM Bridge Program is an integral component of LSAMP programming nationwide because it uses the strategies of academic and social integration and disciplinary socialization and has proven to be successful in student retention. Through the support and collaboration of academic and support units, this important and effective program will serve our underrepresented minority students and assure their success in STEM.”

INSIGHT Into Diversity magazine selected The Ohio State LSAMP because of their efforts at significantly increasing the numbers of students successfully completing degree programs in STEM disciplines.

“We know that many STEM programs are not always recognized for its success, dedication, and mentorship for underrepresented students,” says Lenore Pearlstein, owner and publisher of INSIGHT Into Diversity magazine. “We want to honor the schools and organizations that have created programs that inspire and encourage young people who may currently be in or are interested in a future career in STEM. We are proud to honor these programs as role models to other institutions of higher education and beyond.”