Ohio LSAMP Scholars
to present at LSMCE

LSMCE logoThe Ohio LSAMP is proud to announce that nine of its scholars (pictured below) were chosen through a selective abstract process to participate in the Student Poster Session at the Louis Stokes Midwest Center of Excellence (LSMCE) Conference. The goal of LSMCE and its conference is to serve as a national hub of information for scholars to access data, models, and funding opportunities in broadening participation of underrepresented minority (URM) students in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math (STEM). LSAMP scholars will be among 150 student presenters who will compete for the chance to win five cash awards. Each scholar will receive a travel award of $250, complimentary conference registration and 2-nights complimentary lodging at the Sheraton Indianapolis Hotel.

no photo available  Ahmed  Abokor

Senior, The Ohio State University
“Gene expression and regulation of NLP-7 in the UV1 cells of C. elegans”

 Aissatou Bah  Aissatou Bah

Junior, The Ohio State University
“The Effect of Fungicide on Seed Germination”


Trenton Barnes
Senior, Central State University
“Impact Index for Measuring Fracking Impact on Water Resources”


Johana Barrientos
Junior, Wright State University
“The Impact of Abnormal Wall Shear Stress in Acute Calcific Aortic Valve Disease Pathogenesis”


Jeffrey Cabell-Woods
Senior, University of Cincinnati
“Exploring Relationships between Kinesiophobia and Pain Outcomes in Patients with TMJD”


William Edwards
Junior, Cincinnati State and Technical Community College
“Effect of UNSM on Residual Stress, Microstructure and Properties on Nuclear Alloys 600 and 800”


Derianna Hightower
Sophomore, Columbus State Community College
“Estimating species relationships in the genus Penstemon: a quest for hybridization detection”


Madelyn Leembruggen
Senior, University of Cincinnati
“Collapse of Axion Stars (and Collisions with Astrophysical Sources)”


Oscar Ntakontagize
Sophomore, Sinclair Community College
“Farm lands Water Analysis-Phosphorus”