Morrill Scholarship Program Distinction Scholars Recognized

President Drake speaks to MSP Distinction Scholars

Morrill Scholarship Program’s Distinction Scholars Recognized

Some of the university's best undergraduate students gathered Tuesday evening for a festive reception with faculty, staff and administrators to honor the Morrill Scholarship Program's Distinction Scholars.

Dr. James L. Moore III, the vice-provost for the Office of Diversity and Inclusion, kicked off the recognition celebration by welcoming the students and noting that they represent some of the most creative and committed undergraduates found on this campus.

“These are young people who work hard and dream big,” he said. “Talking to them you realize what they have in common is a burning desire to change our world for the better.”

Two Distinction Scholars in their final year—Jordan Benn and Anjali Kapoor—also made remarks detailing their academic experiences within the Morrill Scholarship Program. They were preceded by President Michael Drake, who told the crowd gathered at the Ideation Zone at Pomerene Hall about the origins of the scholarship program.

Only about 40 students are selected every year as Distinction Scholars within the Morrill Scholarship Program, the university's premier diversity/merit program.

MSP students with james moore
2 msp students talking
girl smiles with cup in hand
attendees listen to speaker