ODI Scholars Are Honored

Nima DahirNima Dahir, an ODI Morrill Scholar, has been named a 2015 Beinecke Scholar. The Beinecke Scholarship is awarded to twenty students annually who have demonstrated superior standards of intellectual ability, scholastic achievement, and personal promise. Ohio State is one of 125 colleges and universities eligible to nominate students for the award; each institution may only nominate one candidate. Nima is the fifth Ohio State student to be named a Beinecke Scholar. Read more about Nima.

David DaneshDavid Danesh, another Morrill Scholar, has been awarded a Harry S. Truman Scholarship. In 2015, the Truman Foundation awarded 58 scholarships to students who have shown a demonstrated commitment to a career in public policy or public service. The recipients were selected from a pool of 688 nominated applicants. Each college or university may nominate up to four students. They were elected by sixteen independent selection panels on the basis of leadership potential, intellectual ability, and likelihood of “making a difference.” Read more about David.

Michale GundrichMichael Gundrich, a Cleveland Young Scholar, was awarded a Student Organization Individual Contribution Award. The award recognizes students, faculty, and staff who have made extraordinary contributions to a student organization through their involvement, leadership, and dedication to the organization and its mission. Michael was honored with the Positional Leader award, given to a student who holds a formal title/position of leadership within the organization. Read more about Michael.

Martin PerezMartín Pérez, another one of ODI’s Morrill Scholars, was awarded the Outstanding Senior award, which is among the highest conferred to undergraduate student leaders. This award recognizes less than 1% of graduating seniors who excel in leadership, service, and scholarship throughout their tenure at Ohio State. Applicants must be in good academic standing with at least a 2.5 GPA. Read more on Martín.