Bell National Center’s
Executive Director Awarded
for Educational Research

Dr. Moore speaks at podium

The American Educational Research Association (AERA) has announced the winners of its 2017 awards for excellence in education research. Among those honored is Dr. James L. Moore III, Executive Director of the Todd Anthony Bell National Resource Center on the African American Male and Education and Human Ecology Distinguished Professor of Urban Education at The Ohio State University.

“This year’s award winners exemplify commitment to the study and practice of education,” said AERA Executive Director Felice J. Levine. “We are proud to honor their outstanding scholarship and service to the field.”

Dr. Moore was presented with one of three national awards given by the AERA Committee on Scholars of Color in Education. The awards are intended to recognize scholars at different stages in their careers – early, middle or distinguished – who have made significant contributions to the understanding of issues that disproportionately affect minority populations and to education research and development. Dr. Moore received the Scholars of Color Mid-Career Contribution Award, which is presented to a scholar who is beyond the first level of professional appointment and for whom 10 or more years have passed, since receipt of the doctoral degree.

The Multicultural/Multiethnic Education Special Interest Group of AERA also selected Dr. Moore as the 2017 recipient of the Dr. Carlos J. Vallejo Memorial Award for Lifetime Scholarship. This award is given annually to one scholar/practitioner based upon the following criteria: illustrated effort in producing scholarship that advances multicultural and multiethnic education (broadly defined), within all educational, cultural, societal and social settings, contexts, levels and locations; and a demonstrated commitment to underserved communities beyond scholarship with evidence of improving the practical conditions experienced by multicultural/multiethnic communities.

“I am elated to receive the Scholars of Color Mid-Career Contribution Award and the Dr. Carlos J. Vallejo Memorial Award for Lifetime Scholarship Award. Both awards convey, in a very small way, the significance and impact of my work. I truly look forward to receiving both awards on behalf of the Black males that I have dedicated my entire career,” said Dr. Moore.

AERA will honor the recipients during the AERA Annual Meeting on April 29 in San Antonio, Texas. AERA is the largest national interdisciplinary research association devoted to the scientific study of education and learning. Founded in 1916, AERA advances knowledge about education, encourages scholarly inquiry related to education, and promotes the use of research to improve education and serve the public good.