James L. Moore III honored with
Asa G. Hilliard Award

James MooreFrom March 13-15, 2019, College Board will convene the 15th Annual A Dream Deferred conference at the Westin Bonaventure in Los Angeles, California, which brings together education professionals who strive to make a difference for African American students.

At this year’s conference, the Asa G. Hilliard Model of Excellence Award will be presented to Dr. James L. Moore III for his significant contributions to the fields of school counseling, gifted education, urban education, multicultural counseling/education, higher education, and STEM education. In particular, he is being honored for his unwavering commitment to education research regarding factors impacting the academic success of African American students, with a particular emphasis on Black males and giftedness.

Dr. Moore is Vice Provost for Diversity and Inclusion and Chief Diversity Officer at The Ohio State University, where he also serves as Executive Director of the Todd Anthony Bell National Resource Center on the African American Male and Distinguished Professor of Urban Education in the College of Education and Human Ecology. In 2018 and 2019, Education Week highlighted Dr. Moore as one of the 200 most influential education researchers and thought leaders in the United States. Including five books, he has published over 130 scholarly papers and has obtained over $20 million in funding. The American Educational Research Association, American Counseling Association, National Association for Gifted Children, National Association for Multicultural Education, American College Personnel Association, National Alliance of Black School Educators, North Central Association for Counselor Education and Supervision, Education Trust, Phi Delta Kappa, and Mensa International have all recognized him for his work. “It is truly an honor and privilege for your work to be recognized by others, and it is even more special to receive an award that is named in honor of the late Dr. Asa G. Hilliard,” says Dr. Moore.

Previous recipients of the Asa G. Hilliard Model of Excellence Award include Dr. Johnnetta Betsch Cole, National Museum of African Art Smithsonian Institution; Dr. Michael L. Lomax, president and CEO of the United Negro College Fund; Dr. Calvin Mackie, founder of STEM NOLA; and Mary Brown, executive director and co-founder of Life Pieces to Masterpieces, to name a few.

For more information about the award or the A Dream Deferred, visit dreamdeferred.collegeboard.org.